December Daily 2011

I just love this quote by Karl Barth, “Joy is the simplest form of gratitude.”

I love the notion that one way I can express my gratitude to God just by being happy in my life {imperfections and all!}.   It really spoke to me at Thanksgiving and I thought it would be the perfect inspiration for a December Daily scrapbook. 

_MG_3747_edited-1

This is the first time I’ve made a December Daily, but it’s really nothing more than a mini-album focused on the 25 days of Christmas.  Tripp happened to be out of town for several days a couple of weeks ago, so I dug out all the Christmas-y scrapbooks paper, stickers, and doo-dads I could find in my stash and put this mini-album album together while sitting at the bar in the kitchen and watching all the TV shows that Tripp hates.  Smile  And the idea for a December Daily is to get the album made ahead of time, so that all you have to do is add a few pictures and bit & pieces here and there throughout the month.

I made the cover of the album out of 6 x 6 chipboard and then the pages are a combination of my Christmas themed scrapbook paper (a paper pad by Paper Studio), envelopes, tags, and manila pockets (7 gypsies). Here are the blank pages.

_MG_3750_MG_3751

_MG_3752_MG_3753

_MG_3754_MG_3756

_MG_3757_MG_3758

_MG_3759_MG_3760

_MG_3761_MG_3762

_MG_3763_MG_3764

_MG_3765_MG_3766

_MG_3768_MG_3769

_MG_3770_MG_3771

_MG_3772_MG_3773

_MG_3775

_MG_3778_MG_3779

_MG_3776

The other thing I did while making my December Daily was brainstorm 25 things that mean Christmas to me and/or things that bring me joy during the Christmas season.  This list is my basic starting point…the things I put in the album might change (I kind of expect that) and that’s totally OK.

  • lights
  • decorations
  • ornaments
  • carols
  • faith
  • snow (? if we have it)
  • family Christmas card pic
  • food
  • parties/festivities
  • hope
  • poinsettias
  • charity
  • anticipation
  • homemade
  • holly jolly
  • comfort and joy
  • frantic? shopping?
  • wrapping
  • coming home
  • angels & hark the herald
  • simplicity
  • movies
  • friendship
  • night before Christmas
  • family

My hope is that this album will capture the season of Christmas and the way we as a family experience it.  But I also hope that in the process that it will help me slow down and be more mindful – really experience the joy of the season.  One small token of my eternal gratitude.

Peace, Kelly

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in holidays, scrapbooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December Daily 2011

  1. Tobi-Dawne says:

    OMG! I wish I’d seen this earlier. I’d have made sure I took a photograph today with something besides my super crappy camera phone. LOL Oh well. I’m DEFINITELY making one of these for next year. Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  2. thank you! it was a fun little project! 🙂

  3. Lara says:

    Thanks for stopping by my little blog and commenting on my DD! This is amazing, I love it!

Leave a Reply

