Room to Grow

A few weeks ago when I was planting pansies, I had 5 little plants leftover.  I stuck them in this pot by my back door, but there weren’t really enough of them to make the pot look full and lush like I like.  I told myself that I would run by Ted & Debbie’s later that week to get cabbage and maybe a couple more things to fill it out, but then work happened and I basically forgot all about it.

Yesterday afternoon I happened to notice the pot of pansies as I was getting Riley’s dog bowl and to my surprise those sweet little violas had nearly filled in all the empty spaces. 

_MG_2409

And then, as if being wrapped in my Heavenly Father’s loving arms, the sweetest words came to me, “All they needed was a little time and some room to grow.”

This is what I do.  In my impatience to have a lush, full garden, I overplant my flower beds with flats and flats of pansies. To me, empty spaces have always looked like a place where something should be.  It never dawned on my that they might fill in on their own.  I have a tendency to do that in my life too.  And lately, facing a few empty spaces of my own, I have been impatient to fill the void because of my desire for a lush, full life.

So I am going to take a cue from nature and the Master Gardener and leave the empty spaces for now.  I am going to tend to my little pot with Faith and Gratitude (maybe even a little self-compassion) and give it some time and room to grow.

Peace, Kelly

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in gardening, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

