Sixteen Tons of Honey Do’s

In case you were wondering, Tripp and I have a very exciting home life.  We stay so incredibly busy with wonderfully productive activities that we rarely have time to feel like empty-nesters.  Take this past Saturday for instance.  What could have been a sad, lonely weekend away from our delightful daughter was, in fact, quite enjoyable – Tripp had time to catch up on all his honey do’s!

The number one priority was to take out all the dead arborvitae behind the pool.  Thankfully it was a beautiful morning and by the time I got home from exercise bootcamp, Tripp had all but a couple already out.  I love it when things work out like that.

Taking out dead bushes is quite a bit of work.  First my dear husband had to dig a ring all the way around each tree.

_MG_0933

Then came the hard part of trying to pry out the root ball.

_MG_0938

._MG_0940

I was an invaluable help.

_MG_0926

Well, somebody had to keep bub company.

_MG_0930

Meanwhile, back by the pool, Tripp went to work on the other side of the tree.  I went back inside in for another cup of coffee.

_MG_0943

I was there for moral support though!  “Give it hell Babe!”

_MG_0945

_MG_0946

Nicely done Dear!

_MG_0947

Then came the really hard part of loading them all up in the wheel-barrow.  Good thing my husband is so strong! Otherwise I would’ve had to help.

_MG_0965_MG_0967

I’m not sure, but I think Tripp might have been trying to drop a hint.  Every time he’d walk by with a cart full of dead trees to load into the truck Tripp would sing-

You load Sixteen tons and what do you get?

Another day older and deeper in debt.

St. Peter don’t you call me cause I can’t go…

I owe my soul to the company store.

Sixteen tons might be a bit of an exaggeration Dear.

_MG_0974

Tripp asked me if I wanted to rake, but I was far too busy photo-documenting his efforts.  Daisy Duke kept him company instead.

_MG_0958

I’m glad he got all his honey-do’s done.  All that coffee drinking and picture taking was about to wear me out!

_MG_0963

And you know what?  I can’t imagine a more perfect way to spend a gorgeous Saturday morning.

Peace, Kelly

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in home, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

