Ten Things–What My Parents Did Right

I can’t believe that in a little over a month we’ll be taking Kelsey to move-in at college.

{Insert wailing and caterwauling here.}

As I get ready to watch my little fledging leave the nest and test out her wings, I hope and pray that I’ve taught her everything she needs to know to safely navigate her journey and find her way at school. I know she’ll be fine keeping up with her schedule – she is a natural at time management and organization. And she’s recently completed a crash course in Laundry 101. We should probably sit down and do a short class in electronic banking and personal finances though.

I think like most parents, there are a couple of things that (thanks to the clarity of hindsight) I might have done differently. But coulda-shoulda-woulda is just not productive so I’m not going to dwell on it. There is no such thing as a perfect parent. We all do the best we can with what we have.

Looking back I am so grateful for everything my parents gave me growing up.  And so to celebrate my parents 44thwedding anniversary today, here are ten things that my parents did right.

  1. They protected us from danger.
  2. They instilled in us the love of music.
  3. They took us to visit our relatives.
  4. They taught us to work hard.
  5. They let us stumble and so we could learn how to get up on our own.
  6. They sat with us at the dinner table every night.
  7. They punished us when we misbehaved.
  8. They planted the seeds of faith.
  9. They held hands in the car.
  10. They told us they loved us everyday.

In the end, that’s all that matters. I know my parents love me and that’s enough to get through anything life throws at you.

Happy Anniversary, Mom and Daddy!!  I love you! Kelly

mom and daddy wedding

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in 10 Things, family, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

