Ten Things–Symptoms of Senioritis

We have illness running rampant in our house.  I think it’s contagious.  I first started noticing some signs the weekend after Les Mis wrapped, but since then this illness has started getting progressively worse.

I think we have a bad case of Senioritis. 

I always considered it a bit of an urban legend, but now that I’ve experienced it myself, I feel the need to warn all you parents of high school students.  So here are ten symptoms of senioritis you might watch to watch out for:

  1. Your senior hits the snooze button at least four times every morning.
  2. Your senior spends more time studying the PB Teen catalog for dorm room accessories than her Environmental Studies book.
  3. Your senior displays an overall lack of motivation.
  4. Your senior has adopted a “homework is optional” attitude.
  5. Your senior rarely takes her backpack to school anymore.
  6. Your senior procrastinates finishing her senior thesis.
  7. Your senior regularly makes statements like, “I’m done” or “I am so over this.”
  8. Your senior complains of fatigue yet manages to stay up late into the texting friends.
  9. Your senior has conveniently forgotten to carry her laundry upstairs for the past two weeks and therefore wears mismatched socks to school.
  10. Your senior has started a 30 day countdown to graduation.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to look into some meds…

…for myself.

Peace, Dr. Mom

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in 10 Things, family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

