Mess Maker

I made a huge mess in the kitchen today.

_MG_6448

Tripp made up a little song for me.  It’s to the tune of the song Matchmaker from Fiddler on the Roof.  It goes like this:

Messmaker, Messmaker, make me a mess

I can’t help it.  Sometimes I just need to get my hands dirty.  Especially when I feel stressed or anxious.  Womperjawed.

Maybe I’m feeling a little off because of the last night’s tornado drill.

_MG_6426

Or maybe it’s because my bedroom looks like this…

_MG_6438

…and my closet looks like this.

_MG_6441

Or maybe it’s because of this.

_MG_6446

Yep…that last one is a big one – graduation announcements really hit home.

*sigh*

So I decided to engage in a little baking therapy. 

Sugar, butter, flour, and chocolate…my four favorite food groups.  Well except for chips and salsa.  And Kettle Salt N Pepper potato chips. 

And red wine.  But that’s not really food.  But it is therapeutic!

Speaking of therapy – here is what was prescribed today.

_MG_6451

Blueberry Streusel Coffeecake

_MG_6452

Double Fudge Cupcakes

_MG_6459

And my tried and true, favorite bread.

_MG_6474

In case it’s not obvious from the previous photos, I would like you to know that I adhere to a strict ‘No Carb Left Behind’ policy.

Yep, a day messmaking in the kitchen was just what the doctor ordered.

Peace, Kelly aka The Messmaker

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in family, life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

