One Thing Leads to Another

Or, more accurately…

How a package of chicken breasts ended up costing $140.77.

002

Here’s what happened…

Sunday afternoon I went for the package of chicken breast that I had defrosting in the refrigerator and discovered that the package had leaked all over the shelf. 

Gross!

So I grabbed my trusty bottle of Clorox Clean-up and got to work wiping down the shelf.  Which then triggered the following chain of events:

  • “What the hell.  I might as well do the other shelves.”
  • “Well, I might as well clean out the fridge.”
  • “Hold old is this container of leftovers?”
  • “Guess I forgot about this package of green beans.”
  • “Why is there an empty jar of pickles back here?”
  • “How many jars of pickles does one family (who doesn’t really even eat pickles) need?”

So after 30 minutes my fridge looked like this.

005

And a proclamation from my family that there was nothing to eat in the house.

Which there wasn’t.

Which prompted a trip to the grocery store.

My dear husband, trying to score a few points to ensure an evening of uninterrupted football playoffs in front of the big TV, volunteered to take me.

Which meant I came home from the store with this.

008

And this.

013

And this.

028

So beware the next time you clean your fridge during football playoffs.  You could end up with $140 chicken breasts.

Your devoted public servant, Kelly

About Minding My Nest

wife, mom, not-so-empty nester.
This entry was posted in family, home, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

